UN Jerusalem vote by country: What countries voted against US call on Israel’s capital?

An overwhelming majority of United Nations member states opposed the United States regarding the disputed status of Jerusalem on Thursday.

In what was seen as a massive blow to the US, a total of 128 of the 193-member UN General Assembly agreed to resolve the Holy City dispute through “negotiations in line with relevant UN resolutions”.

The vote followed President’s Trump decision on December 6 to move the US embassy in Israel to Jerusalem.
The official UN position is that East Jerusalem is part of the occupied Palestinian territory – a sore point of contention for Israel. In 2008 the UN called on for a dual-capital solution.

US ambassador to the UN Nikki Haley said that the vote “disrespected” America and President Trump
Ms Haley later announced that the US will go ahead with moving its embassy to the disputed city regardless of the vote.

She said: “That is what the American people want us to do and it is the right thing to do.

“This vote will make a difference in how Americans look at the UN.

Adding that the US will “remember this day” when it was “singled out for attack”.

The UK, France, China and Germany were among those who voted in favour of the non-binding motion. Only nine voted against and 35 abstained.

Jerusalem vote: A majority of UN states voted in favour of the motion against the US

Here are the countries that voted in favour of the UN motion:
A: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan
B: Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi
C: Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Chad, Chile, China, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Cote d’Ivoire, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (North Korea), Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica
E: Ecuador, Egypt, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia
F: Finland, France
G: Gabon, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guinea, Guyana
I: Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Italy
J: Japan, Jordan
K: Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan
L: Laos, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg
M:Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique
N: Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway
O: Oman
P: Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Portugal
Q: Qatar
R: Republic of Korea (South Korea), Russia
S: Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria
T: Tajikistan, Thailand, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Tunisia, Turkey
U: United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Uzbekistan
V: Venezuela, Vietnam
Y: Yemen
Z: Zimbabwe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *